Eight lawyers chosen as honorary QCs

February 27, 2013 The annual round of QC appointments has been made, with 84 UK lawyers awarded the prestigious the title. Of those 84, eight lawyers were made honorary QCs - an award that is given to those who have made a major contribution to the law of England & Wales outside practice in the courts. The list of people to receive the honorary title is decided by a Ministry of Justice selection panel, which passes its recommendations to Lord Chancellor Chris Grayling.

The lawyers awarded honorary QC status this year were Bar Standards Board chair Baroness Ruth Deech; former Herbert Smith senior partner Edward Walker-Arnott; legal academic and South Square barrister Professor Ian Fletcher; 3 Verulam Buildings member and Oxford University professor of employment law Mark Freedland; Doughty Street barrister Professor Geraldine Van Bueren; founder of the Centre for Effective Dispute Resolution, Eileen Carroll; equal pay lawyer Stefan Cross; and Professor David Ormerod, barrister at the Chambers of Max Hill QC and Law Commissioner for criminal law.

comments powered by Disqus